Star Wars: Episode I Racer (Jewel Case) – PC – Reviews & Compare Deals

Star Wars: Episode I Racer (Jewel Case) – PC – Reviews & Compare Deals
Deal Score0
Deal Score0
$19.95
6 new from $19.95
20 used from $5.00
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: September 16, 2018 11:19 am
Star Wars: Episode 1: Racer lets you participate in the famous pod race sequence that was the critical highlight of the 1999 film Star Wars: Episode I, The Phantom Menace. These lightning-quick vehicles are capable of reaching simulated speeds of up to 600 miles per hour while skimming a mere 4 feet above the ground. You can race alone or against a friend in split-screen mode on more than 21 courses among eight worlds. Take the controls as Jedi-to-be Anakin Skywalker or any one of over 20 pod racers. Feel the full-force blast while avoiding hazards such as methane lakes, meteor showers, and the unfriendly Tusken Raiders.
Choose Best Deals
$19.95
6 new from $19.95
20 used from $5.00
as of September 16, 2018 11:19 am
Compare
Compare
Star Wars: Episode I Racer (Jewel Case) - PC

Star Wars: Episode I Racer (Jewel Case) - PC

User Rating
Price
$19.95 6 new from $19.95 20 used from $5.00 as of September 16, 2018 11:19 am
Shop Now
Buy Now amazon.com
Features
Binding
Video Game
Brand
LucasArts
Edition
Jewel Case
ESRB Age Rating
Everyone
Format
CD-ROM
Genre
space_simulation_games
Hardware Platform
pc
Label
LucasArts Entertainment
Number Of Discs
1
Number Of Items
1
Operating System
Windows 95
Package Quantity
1
Product Group
Video Games
Publisher
LucasArts Entertainment
Release Date
2002-04-15
Studio
LucasArts Entertainment
User Reviews
Expert Reviews

Star Wars: Episode 1: Racer lets you participate in the famous pod race sequence that was the critical highlight of the 1999 film Star Wars: Episode I, The Phantom Menace. These lightning-quick vehicles are capable of reaching simulated speeds of up to 600 miles per hour while skimming a mere 4 feet above the ground. You can race alone or against a friend in split-screen mode on more than 21 courses among eight worlds. Take the controls as Jedi-to-be Anakin Skywalker or any one of over 20 pod racers. Feel the full-force blast while avoiding hazards such as methane lakes, meteor showers, and the unfriendly Tusken Raiders.

Barcodes
  • EAN: 0023272653811
  • MPN: LUCD2
  • SKU: PCDS_B000063LK4
  • UPC: 023272653811
  • Part Number: LUCD2
Shop Now
Images
Star Wars: Episode I Racer (Jewel Case) - PC


Price Tracker

Star Wars: Episode I Racer (Jewel Case) - PC, LucasArts Entertainment

Price: $19.95 as of September 16, 2018 11:19 am  
Buy Now
Amazon.com
Wait For A Price Drop

Price History

Statistics

Current Price $19.95 September 16, 2018
Highest Price $19.95 September 16, 2018
Lowest Price $19.95 September 16, 2018
Since September 16, 2018

Last price changes

$19.95 September 16, 2018
5 Comments
  1. Even without the Star Wars elements, this would be a great game. Similar to others in this genre (sort of), the futuristic space driving racer sim, I am reminded most of the Wipeout XL and Wipeout 3 on the playstation. In Star Wars Episode I Racer, you don’t race cars exactly, nor futuristic ones, you race pods, pod the driver (you) sit in which is being pulled, not pushed, by huge engines in front of you. This whole twist adds a whole different physics than the playstation titles mentioned, and in many ways, getting the hang of this game is like learning to drive (and fly) all over again.This is a stunning looking and sounding ride through colors and lights and wonderful 3D music from the Phantom Menace mostly (the music of which I thought one of its best features). There is also some older Star Wars themes, one of the characters even humming it at one point in the game’s lighter moments. Not that there is anything too heavy going on as far as some great battle between good and the dark side. The game’s story and characters are cartoonish and humorous, but the best thing here is certainly once the driving and racing itself begins. While bordering on arcade and simulation, this is more just such a treat for the eyes and ears.This game I worried about buying a bit as the system requirements are close to what I have (3D card needed, if you don’t have one, don’t buy), but the game installed easily, and runs perfectly, this with all the settings on max, and the highest quality sound. The system requirements for this game are very correct. The framerate is consistent although there is a bit of fogging here and there. One hardly notices this however as once you get going in a race, there is so much eye candy and rush, it leaves one’s head spinning. Epileptic prone folks or those feeling a bit queasy at even the thought of getting on an intergalactic rollercoaster may want to approach this game with caution.In your typical driving video game, you can have the thrill of driving exotic cars at speeds of 200 miles an hour. In this game, that’s crawling along. In this game, you go 600 and over, in strange crafts on imaginary planets and worlds as alien as they are beautiful to look at. The attention to detail is amazing, almost each scene animated “space art” in its own right. This is more photo realistic however than most space art, and almost looks at times like scenes right out of the movie itself. This is amazing and creates a sense of virtual reality; you are “playing” the film itself. My problems with this game are almost nil.The game is based upon only one sequence in the movie, the pod racing one, and while there is no Jar Jar supposedly (boo, he was the BEST thing in Phantom Menace, no seriously), there are a host of other characters, many, many of them. The voices are really well done as well as the sound effects, though sparse. The MOVIE sequences are super-fantastic and are entertaining and well done, written and directed well, and you could swear you were watching a DVD video at times. The music is from a great film soundtrack and you can set it for very high quality with low system specs.There is a lot of good-natured and funny parts to the “story” and the winning of races and moving up in rank, repairing and upgrading your cosmic vehicles with intergalactic con artists and strange looking aliens of every type, Gran Turismo type stuff but in a galaxy far far away.. Kids of all ages will enjoy this. The racing itself though is where kids of my age who thought Star Wars the old 25 cent arcade game was great, will really “get this.”It is very much a psychedelic ride. I must admit I am being constantly amazed at what video games are capable of today, graphically, audio-wise. I sat in those old Star Wars Atari games or stood dumping quarters into them. Now with Star Wars Racer (and other titles in the SW games), I can make this giant leap year ahead in technology, from vector green graphics to this!!! The price they’re asking for this nowadays is a bargain plus. This is a mind blowing ride, with twists and turns all along the way, zero gravity portholes, giant cliffs, multi colored worlds out of the minds methinks of some darn creative and imaginative people somewhere out there in Lucas-land. Congratulations on such an almost surrealistic interactive experience.Most of this game is about the racing, and that’s what it does best. You will really get the sensation of going THAT fast, of boosting to hypersonic speeds, into warp zones with gorgeous scenery everywhere you look. As far as difficulty, it is like any great game, easy to learn, difficult to master. I beat the first level, first try, but just between us, it was because I played the demo 100 times. It gets tough, sure, but this is not really a game you’re all that concerned with “beating,” or shouldn’t be. It’s one to be enjoyed most for its beautiful production design, alien sparkling worlds, all zipping by at seizure causing speed.If you are looking for one of the best Star Wars PC games going, you won’t be disappointed. Check out the system requirements, play the demo, gamepad/joystick recommended, and if everything works out, buy it. The demo is but a small taste of the full version. This game knocks my socks off and it’s a real winner. Thanks all you heads at Lucas Arts. What a trip.Graphics: 5/5Play Control: 4.5/5Challenge: 5/5Theme/Fun: 4.5/5Sound/Music: 5/5Storyline: 4/5Originality: 4/5Replay Value: 5/5Overall Score: 5/5

  2. A great game by Lucas Arts. Granted, Pod Racer was produced in the ’90’s, but is still a fun game to play in 2009. This product works great with my XP system. Even without a graphics card, the visuals still perform well. There were NO technical glitches while loading the CD. Everything went well. And for the price it is well worth it. My 6 year old son enjoys this a lot. I recommend this game to anyone who hasn’t already played current games that use intense graphics like other Star Wars games such as STAR WARS BATTLEFRONT.

  3. I have been looking for this software. It has been reviewed in past as being one of the top racing software and I really enjoy it. However, you do need to use cpu slow software since it was written windows 95/98. The graphics is really fantastic especially since the program was written in 1999

  4. The game didn’t play, disc was corrupted

  5. This was my favorite computer game as a child. This brings back great memories, being able to play this game again. Thanks so much.

Leave a Reply