Fable III – Xbox 360 – Reviews & Compare Deals

Fable III – Xbox 360 – Reviews & Compare Deals
Deal Score0
$14.70 $14.99 Buy It Now
Deal Score0
$14.70 $14.99 Buy It Now
$14.70 $14.99
23 new from $10.72
123 used from $2.50
Free shipping
Amazon Amazon.com
Last update was on: October 8, 2018 9:17 pm

In Fable III, the latest installment of the critically acclaimed Xbox 360 exclusive franchise, fans new and returning will now embark on an epic adventure, where the race for the crown is only the beginning of your spectacular journey. Five decades have passed since the events of Fable II, and Albion has matured into an industrial revolution, but the fate of the kingdom is at peril.

Fable 3 - Debut Trailer

Release Date: October 31, 2010 Preorder Available: ...

Fable 3 - Development Diary 1

Release Date: October 31, 2010 Preorder Available: ...

Fable 3 Gamespot - IGN - GameTrailers Review

BUY AT AMAZON !!! 8% OFF !!! ·X360 ...

Choose Best Deals
$14.70
$14.99
23 new from $10.72
123 used from $2.50
as of October 8, 2018 9:17 pm
Free shipping
Compare
Compare
Fable III - Xbox 360

Fable III - Xbox 360

User Rating
Price
$14.70 $14.99

Free shipping

23 new from $10.72 123 used from $2.50 as of October 8, 2018 9:17 pm
Shop Now
Buy Now amazon.com
Features
  • Embark on an epic adventure
  • Be the Hero
  • Blockbuster Action meets adventure
  • Choice and consequence
Binding
Video Game
Brand
Microsoft
Color
One Color
Creator
Microsoft Corporation
Edition
Standard
ESRB Age Rating
Mature
Genre
role-playing-game-genre
Hardware Platform
Xbox 360
Label
Microsoft
Number Of Items
1
Operating System
Xbox 360
Package Quantity
1
Platform
Xbox 360
Product Group
Video Games
Publication Date
2010-10-26
Publisher
Microsoft
Release Date
2010-10-26
Size
one size
Studio
Microsoft
User Reviews
Expert Reviews

In Fable III, the latest installment of the critically acclaimed Xbox 360 exclusive franchise, fans new and returning will now embark on an epic adventure, where the race for the crown is only the beginning of your spectacular journey. Five decades have passed since the events of Fable II, and Albion has matured into an industrial revolution, but the fate of the kingdom is at peril.

Barcodes
  • EAN: 0080000516879
  • MPN: LZD-00001
  • UPC: 100177413532
  • Model: LZD-00001
  • Part Number: LZD-00001
Shop Now
Images


Price Tracker

Fable III - Xbox 360, Microsoft

Price: $14.70 as of October 8, 2018 9:17 pm  
Buy Now
Amazon.com

Price History

3 Comments
  1. I was a big fan of Fable 1 and Fable 2 and was anxiously anticipating the release of Fable 3 since I preordered it back in July. While Fable 1 and 2 received some criticism elsewhere, I thought both were excellent and would rate both 4.5 or even 5 stars. I’m not normally an RPG fan, I’m more a fan of action games and story based games, and I like the Fable series mainly due to the story and the action.After playing most of the way through Fable 3, I have to say it’s a big disappointment given how good the first 2 were. While I was expecting some “improvements” that I realized I may not appreciate, they made the game worse in a lot of ways.Fable III starts off with a lot of potential – the graphics are great, the story is good (at least the first half), the gameplay is pretty good, and the map is quite large.I think the action/fighting scenes in Fable III are inferior to the prior releases for a couple of reasons. For one, in F3 there is an enormous mismatch between the different types of weapons. I remember in Fable 2 I used the firearms a lot, and enjoyed upgrading from one type of firearm to another. In fable 3, the magic is so much more effective that the other two weapon types that the firearms are essentially rendered useless – why bother to shoot your opponent when you can just keep hurling fireball after fireball at them. What’s worse, once you level up your Magic to about level 4 and gain the ability to combine 2 spells (i.e. Fire + Shock), alls you have to do is hold B to power up the area of impact and release it to cast the spell around your surrounding area (as opposed to targeting a specific opponent) and this is sufficient to win most battles. That’s literally it – hold b, release b. Hold b, release b. Repeat until all enemies are dead – it gets quite boring. The melee weapon is somewhat useful (as opposed to the firearms, which I almost never bothered with in F3), but again once you get to about level 4 or so the magic so overpowers the other two that the action really isn’t very fun or very challenging.The other big disadvantage of the combat is the game lacks the constant upgrading of different weapons. You start out with a hero hammer, a hero sword, a hero rifle, and a hero pistol. The damage inflicted by each weapon increases as you level up and the appearance changes based on the decisions you make, but you can essentially use the same weapons the entire game. While you can buy additional weapons, I couldn’t really figure out any reason to do so as the hero hammer worked just fine. This is in sharp contrast to prior fables, where there was constant incentive to upgrade your weaponry.The menu system has changed, but while the new system is somewhat slower, I don’t really have a problem with it. I think the sanctuary concept is kind of a cool idea.The game feels more linear that prior Fables. While you are sometimes given “good” vs. “evil” choices, you often don’t have a choice at all. For example, you are repeatedly forced with making “promises” to various supporters. You don’t have a choice to not promise, the good choice (A) is the only one presented. It’s presented as if it’s a choice, but it isn’t.The property ownership of the game is very frustrating the way it’s set up, because all income generating properties eventually fall into disrepair and you have to pay to repair them. This would be fine if there was a menu system where you could select properties and repair them (or better yet, a “repair all” option). However, easy as it would be to add this option to the sanctuary, they didn’t add it. In order to repair properties, you have to travel to each one individually in order to select “repair”. This is a time consuming pain in the butt that does not add to the fun of the game, on top of the fact that I couldn’t even remember where all my properties were. Tip – when buying income generating properties, try to buy properties that are all very near to each other, so you can repair them all in as few trips as possible. (Edit: As noted in the comments, there is a way to repair properties from the map in the sanctuary).As many others have mentioned, the ending is quite disappointing (and as of this review I haven’t totally finished the game, but I’ve reached the point where I’ve become king and made the first 2 rounds of kingly decisions, and it’s quite clear at this point the storyline is going straight into the toilet).The game is quite glitchy. The golden trail that leaves you where you need to go will occasionally disappear or lead in circles before remembering the way. The dog occasionally gets lost. And worse, a couple of times I would do a small “relationship quest” and the quest would literally disappear midway through (I’d deliver the package but the person I’d have to go back to for my “reward” would not be there and the quest wasn’t in my quest list). In fact, there were a number of instances where the game didn’t seem to know what Quest I was on – it would come up with the “you have selected a new quest before finishing your existing active quest” line a number of times when I did NOT have an existing active quest. Or, the instructions would tell me to go to the throne room but the golden trail would lead elsewhere. None of the glitches I encountered were major in that it’s not like I couldn’t complete the game or anything, but they were annoying nonetheless.This is a bit of a spoiler, but worth reading – at some point in the game, you are told to meet a character at a boat. You are told something like “you will be gone for a long time, so if there are any quests or exploring you’d still like to do, do it now.” What it doesn’t tell you is this is basically your last chance to do anything you want to do, ESPECIALLY to build up a stash of gold. Take your time and complete any open quests you wanted to do, make as many friends as you can, and most importantly, make as much gold as you can and invest it into income generating properties before you get on that boat. If you want to be a “good” king, it will require millions and millions in gold (frankly I’m not sure I have the patience to play the blacksmith or piemaker games long enough to amass as much gold as required).Bottom line – I rate Fable III 3 stars because on a standalone basis it is an “ok” game. However, truth be known based on how great the first two installments were I have to say Fable III is a big disappointment. It feels incomplete and rushed to market. There are glitches that should have been fixed. There are aspects of combat that should have been refined (magic shouldn’t dominate melee and ranged weapons to the degree that it does, it takes all the fun out of the combat). The good vs. evil choices should be less linear, as they were in prior Fables. The ending of the story should have been tweaked, or at the very least there should be more of a warning that you need to amass a ton of gold before becoming king. The frustrating thing is, most of these problems would be acceptable in the first iteration in a game. But this is part III (and the second part on the 360), the shortcomings I listed are simply inexcusable when many/most of these issues weren’t present in fable i and ii – they actually went backwards in the sequel.A number of reviews have stated something like “now that I know what I’m supposed to do, I may go back and play a second time”. Honestly, if the combat aspects of the game were more fun and there were more objects to find (weapons), I’d probably do that, but as it stands I have very little interest in playing through Fable III a second time. I’d much rather go back and play through Fable II a second time – it’s a vastly superior game.EDIT: After playing the game to completion, I don’t really have anything more to add. My misgivings about where the story line was going soon after becoming king played out as I had expected. Overall, a very disappointing experience.

  2. I was a huge fan of the past Fables… but this one is atrocious.The first 2 games had a witty, fun story and gave you tons of ways to advance and customize yourself as you played. You could be good or evil and people would interact with you that way. You could advance specific skills. You had to make choices that had a real impact on how you played and to a lesser degree, how the story unfolded. But that was what made Fable so good. It gave you some guidance. It wasn’t like Oblivion where you have to spend days wandering around learning maps. You got all the fun of customizing without the drudgery.Fable 3 takes this a step further by eliminating game-play almost entirely. You can make evil choices… but since the entire point of the game is to do good(so that people will follow you to overthrow the evil ruler) it doesn’t make any sense to be evil. So when you do make evil choices, it doesn’t really work and there don’t seem to be any consequence.This game is so rigorously scripted it’s ridiculous. It’s literally hours of in-game cut-scenes and exposition that you have to sit through. No skipping! Occasionally the characters try to be funny, but they fail. The game is: Press A (by press I mean hold for 5 seconds) then nod off while the characters prattle on for 5+ minutes. Wake up, then follow the sparkly path for 10 minutes. Loading screen. Repeat. It is tedious in the extreme.Customizations have been dumbed down to an unbelievable level. You don’t get to make nuanced choices that impact game-play. You just trudge through. Until you realize you could be doing other things. I was so bored waiting for exposition to finish that I got up and started cleaning the kitchen while I waited. That’s how riveting it is.

  3. I really liked Fable 2 and was interested in playing the third one for a long time. I missed the free download on Xbox Live but I paid a little over $5 buying it from this vendor. Delivery was very fast but the packaging sucked. Not only was there no case but it was also just put in a flimsy bubble envelope with no other protection. Thank goodness it didn’t crack or anything.***SPOILER ALERT***As far as the game goes, I did have a lot of fun playing through it but the story wasn’t as good as Fable 2. The ending and what you had to do right before the big boss made no sense. I also experienced a lot of glitches in the game that really prevents me from scoring this game a little higher.Bugs I encountered:- The gold trail you follow will randomly disappear. So annoying!! Most times it would take several seconds for it to reappear. There isn’t much you can do to make it come back any faster either. I tried fast travelling again, going to the sanctuary and even interacting with my dog.- When I went with Sir Walter to the monorail, I got stuck in the corner of the the elevator and couldn’t get out! I even loaded a second character on my other control to interact with my main character but nothing worked. I ended up having to delete that file and starting over.- It seems that you can not join someone else’s game or vise-versa unless you have the same DLCs. This includes even the free DLCs. There is no compatibility pack unfortunately.-I tried joining someones game and when it loaded I was a new character instead of my main one. When I dash-boarded and reloaded my original file, it was gone. It started me from the beginning when you are in the bed. I even tried reloading from the sanctuary but my original character wasn’t there still. Several hours later after I started a new game, I rechecked the load room in sanctuary and my original file was suddenly there, smh.-Sometimes when you are interacting with other players, the interact button doesn’t always pop up. So you end up having to just re-enter their game.Thing’s I liked:-The map was pretty good and easy to navigate. Though I do wish there was an onscreen map for when your gold trail disappears so it wouldn’t waste time waiting for it to pop up again.- You can buy property from the map which is convenient. The downside to that is when you have to repair property you have to do this one by one which can be tedious if your in a town that has several homes. My next play-through I just stuck with buying up business since I didn’t have to worry about repairing them.-The achievements are fairly easy to get and can be obtained in one play-through.- The weapon morph is pretty cool. And if you get and STD I think it turns you weapon poisonous because a green aura emanates from it.-The gargoyles from the last game are replace with gnomes this time and they are way more rude than the gargoyles.Things I disliked:-Aside from the bugs I listed, I didn’t exacting think the battle system was all that great. Sometimes getting flourishes wouldn’t happen and when they did it wouldn’t be calculated towards the weapon you were trying to upgrade. I had plenty of slow-motion cinematics pop up before I became ruler but it didn’t seem to start registering to my weapon until after I got my wings. So don’t bother trying to upgrade certain weapon until after you beat the game. Many weapon require you do a certain amount of flourishes to upgrade them.-The dog seemed way weaker in this game than in the last. I read all the books but he wasn’t very helpful in combat at all.-The “Popularity Contest” achievement was a pain in the ass. Remember I said your trail goes cold at times? Well if you are gunning for this achievement your best bet is to fast travel everywhere because at least the friendships deteriorate a little slower because you aren’t walking everywhere.All in all I had a lot of fun moments playing this. I would recommend this game if you have patience to deal this those bugs I mentioned.

Leave a Reply